March Madness

Its that time of year, March Madness for college basketball and what seems like March Madness, quilt related, for me.

I typically start a project and follow through to the finish before starting something new. For some reason, this month, I have been working on a lot of different things at once. That is why I’m calling it March Madness.

So here is what I’ve been working on:

Lots of cutting! With this never-ending winter in Chicago, I’m hoping to have all my projects cut and ready for sewing. That means more time outside when the weather FINALLY gets warmer.

cuttinhg

My granddaughter Ava is getting ready to move from crib to her “big girl” bed. She wants purple! I’m working on the cover quilt from the latest issue of American Patchwork and Quilting. I made a test block which I’m very happy with and now making ALL of the half square triangles.

photo_1

I also finished the binding on my Basket of Flowers Quilt, ready for the Quilt Show in the Garden in June.

.basket of flowers

Looking ahead to 2015, I’ll be teaching The Giving Quilt (based on the book by Jennifer Chaiverini) to our Firehouse Group. All the pieces are cut and there are more HST’s to be made.

photo_3

I finished stitching the March block for our Breakfast Club project. So far, this one is my favorite.

Making a lot of flying geese and preparing for a program for the Algonquin Quilter’s Guild. I’m showing them flying geese three ways: traditional, fast flying geese and using Open Gate’s Fit To Be Geese Ruler. Hopefully my flying geese YouTube video and post will be finished too.

photo_2

Finally, I finished one of my favorite quickie patterns, with more geese – The Flying Geese Panel quilt. Here’s a sneak peak, can’t show you the final picture as its a surprise!

j

4 responses

  1. Those all look like great projects, love the finished one’s… the purple one I really like.. maybe I will do that block for one I’ve been needing to do…
    The surprise quilt is very pretty, can’t wait to see the whole picture..
    Hugs, ET

  2. Pingback: The Great American Quilt – Part VI Piecing it Together | missmarys

  3. Pingback: May Birthday Girls | Patches & Prints

Leave a Reply

