Holiday Recap

IMG_5970

I hope you all enjoyed the holidays. It seems they always by so quickly but it also feels good to be back to a routine of healthy eating, exercise and of course sewing in the new year! So before I give you my “Sewing” New Years Resolutions, I thought I would give you a recap of my holidays.

For my family, December was amazing as we welcomed a new addition — grandson, Anderson Michael, born on December 8!

IMG_5780

Anderson is the first baby for my son Michael and daughter-in-law Erin. Needless to say, our holidays were very special, introducing Anderson to family, friends and his cousins, our 4 other grandchildren.

IMG_2550

Leading up to Anderson’s birth were baby showers which means baby quilts. Quilters know that procrastination is not an option when deciding to make a special quilt. I started the planning back in July when we got the news that he was going to be a “he”. I was recovering from surgery, fabric shopping online and came upon Riley Blake’s collection “Oh Boy”. I fell in love with these fabrics and started creating. As soon as I was up to sitting at the sewing machine, everything fell into place, the tops were finished, quilted by my friend Darlene and ready for the October baby shower.

Anderson Cradle

Quilt for baby cradle

Anderson

Crib Quilt

photo

Baby Shower!

Coincidentally, this fabric line coordinates perfectly with Anderson’s furniture. This was totally accidental, the original crib was discontinued. See how great his room looks!

Crib with quilts

I also whipped up a little Penguin quilt which we brought to the hospital when the baby was born. Erin LOVES penguins so with the penguins and snowflakes, I think this could be Baby’s First Christmas quilt.

Anderson penguin2

After the baby quilts were finished, I had time to make a few Christmas quilts and a pillowcase for each of the other grandchildren. I think everyone was happy with that.

IMG_5861

IMG_5859

Finally, I will share my newest holiday quilts!

IMG_5966 IMG_5967 IMG_5968 IMG_5969 IMG_5971

Next up – Sewing Resolutions.

 

4 responses

Leave a comment