Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is almost here and this week gets a little hectic as we plan the recipes, do the grocery shopping and all the prep work leading up to the big day. My Thanksgiving also includes my fall quilts displayed around the house. Many quilters have such good intentions of changing out the quilts with the seasons. That doesn’t always happen for me. But I do always manage to get the fall quilts out before Halloween. I’ll share some of them with you here; a few quilts, pillows, wallhangings and tablerunners. . .

Have Mercy – the turkey done in machine applique, invisible thread.

Quilt on bench is Pumpkin Table Topper (2005) from The Stitchery in Delavan WI. It is machine quilted by ME! Larger pillow was a little extra that came with the pattern. Rectangular pillow is paper pieced pumpkins (2006).

My Scarecrow (2002) done on quilt grid, wallhanging made as a shop sample and beautifully custom quilted.

Autumn Night from the Thimbleberries Quilt Club 2002. The Thimbleberries Club from the shop has now evolved into our Block of the Month group that meets at the Itasca Firehouse.

Falling Leaves tablerunner with fused leaves, hand stitched with buttonhole stitch (2005 from Fons & Porter Love of Quilting Magazine).

Criss Cross Applesauce from Atkinson Designs book, Let’s Do Lunch (2009) made at Fall Quilt Retreat 2009.

Autumn Wreaths (2006), a paper pieced wallhanging.

Oak Leaves mini table runner from That Quilt Shop (Woodstock IL) done at Fall Quilt Retreat 2010.

You may wonder how I remember all these names and dates, not a great memory, just labels that I TRY to put on every single quilt that I make. Helps that memory a lot!

This Thanksgiving I so grateful that my daughter Michelle is home from California and especially thankful that my entire family will be together for their traditional Thanksgiving walk. We’ll do our Black Friday shopping starting at midnight this year and then get the family together again on Saturday before Michelle goes back to L.A.

My Thanksgiving wish to all of you. . . enjoy your day, the food, the people and the shopping and decorating that follows. Happy Thanksgiving to all of you, my quilting friends!!!!

Leave a Reply

