January . . .

January and winter have definitely arrived in the midwest. A big snow storm is predicted for tomorrow. And wintertime means more sewing time! Yes!!!! In my previous post, I talked about the self-imposed “grounding” from the sewing room. Well, the Christmas decs are all packed up so I’m back at the sewing machine ready to work on the 2012 quilts!

First off, I’m working on a queen size “Cars” quilt for my grandson. Its going to be super cute when finished though the construction is making me a little crazy. My daughter-in-law requested some texture on the quilt top and we decided on Minkee. Great idea except for the fact that the red Minkee is shedding all over the room, my clothes, the sewing machine (and inside the machine) . . . EVERYWHERE . . .and I do mean EVERYWHERE! But it’ll all be worth it when he gets all snuggly with his quilt on the bed.

My Breakfast Club quilting group will also be starting a new project in 2012. This year it is Sweet Sixteen from Edytar Sitar, Laundry Basket Quilts. We all just completed her Elegant Garden Blocks (photo below) and love her patterns. I’m not sure if everyone is using wool for this project but will keep you all posted. I am using wool for the applique (assorted colors) with a camel colored wool as a background. We are all so excited to start this quilt.

January is also Winter Quilt Retreat time. One week from tomorrow, quilters will gather at the Sheraton Suites Elk Grove and begin their class project. And of course, we all need more projects, right? Yes, actually the thought of a new project is always exciting, especially in the middle of winter. We will have two classes going on. Monique Dillard (Open Gate Quilts) will be teaching Crazy Eights from her book Fat Quarter Winners and I’ll be teaching a Terry Atkinson design from Time Out Quilts, String of Lights. The majority of those attending will be “regulars” but there are a few new faces, as well as some who’ve been gone awhile but have returned. Its great to get together for a weekend of interrupted sewing time while catching up with friends.

My “to do” list for the retreat is complete, I met with the hotel people today and we are set to go. So I can enjoy a quick trip to L.A. this weekend with my niece, to visit my daughter. We are so excited, especially since we are seeing Wicked on Sunday, along with my cousin and her two daughters. For those who know me, you know I am a “Wicked” fanatic!!!!! I’ve seen it 19 times (in Chicago, New York, Des Moines, Toronto) and number 20 will be in Los Angeles!!!!!

Finally, please click on the Quilting Gallery icon to the right. This link takes you to a fun website with directories for quilt shops, guilds, quilt bloggers and much more. As always, I hope you will subscribe (also scroll to the right to “Follow Blog via Email“) to this blog and foward to all your quilter friends. Next post will be recap of the Winter Quilt Retreat and lots of pictures!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Spring Cleaning | Patches & Prints

Leave a Reply

