My Quilts

Many times I am asked . . . how many quilts have you made? That’s a very good question, I actually don’t know, never counted. Which got me thinking, I should try to count them. So to start, I went to my computer for all the digital images in the file “Quilts” and ended up re-organizing all of “My Pictures”. That was really a good thing, took me two nights and now its done. Now back to the quilts. I then took the pictures in the Quilts file and started categorizing, baby quilts, kids quilts, tablerunners, wallhangings and on and on.

Next, I will need to go through the four photo albums of quilt pictures because I used to print every picture. When did we stop doing that? I think somewhere about 4 or 5 years ago. So the counting continues but for now, I’m just gonna concentrate on the digital images.

As soon I finish the last stitches of a binding, I either sew a label or sign the back of the quilt, then take the photo. That is my routine. Some people journal, there are a lot of great quilt journals available, others use “documentation”. One of my very good quilting buddies (you know her, she’s the one who felted wool from thrift store skirts and also the one who has the box labeled “Quilts to be done but not me”) has the famous “documentation sheet”. She should write a blog just from these sheets. Her documentation tells about the quilt, pattern, fabric, batting, who quilted it, who also did the same quilt, the quilt group . . . and MORE. I had good intentions of doing documentation for all my quilts but only got as far as printing out a bunch of sheets. So much for documentation, my documentation is the photo . . . and now the blog post.

So now to actually post my pictures on the blog on the “My Quilts” page. Its about time, right? I’ve been thinking about how this would work for about a week now, when I started writing this post. I had planned to post all the quilt pictures on the “My Quilts” page but as I started to load all the pictures it appeared to be just too many. What I decided to do is post and categorize on my Pinterest Boards. This will be much easier. Hope you will follow me on Pinterest to see them all (start with Baby/Kids quilts). I’ll keep everyone posted as to my progress but for now I’ll post a few on the blog, some baby quilts and some kids quilts. And I’ll TRY to remember the quilt names/patterns and where the quilt ended up, if not with me.

The count begins, enjoy the quilts!

Baby quilts and kids quilts . . . ready to go to a special little guy or girl!

Leave a Reply

