Wool . . . an encore

I’ve posted before about wool, how much I LOVE wool, LOVE working with it, LOVE handstitching on it and on and on. Well, here we are again for the wool encore. If you don’t like wool, you probably don’t want to read any further.

I cannot tell you how much I LOVE working with WOOL!!!!!

My latest wool encounter is Sweet Sixteen, from Edyta Sitar (Laundry Basket Quilts). Our Breakfast Club (one of my quilt groups, we’ll discuss the name some time, I promise) has chosen Sweet Sixteen as our 2012 project. I rather doubt any of us are doing an entire quilt with these blocks, rather just improvising and making wallhangings, tablerunners, pillows or bottom of the bed quilts. An entire quilt of 16 full-size blocks done in wool would be just too HEAVY! Over the first four months of 2012, I did 4 blocks from this pattern using a dark chocolate brown wool as the background.

For some reason, I just love cutting out all the pieces from the Steam-a-Seam, picking out the colors from my wool drawer and scrap wool box, fusing and creating my block – FUN!

And . . . have I mentioned the Applique Pressing Sheet? A must have for any quilter who does fusible applique! You can arrange all your applique pieces on the sheet, fuse down, let cool and then peel off to set the entire applique design on the background piece. Yes, awesome! Try it for any fusible applique if you haven’t yet. And don’t forget to use an old iron, just in case.

I now have all of my blocks fused and ready to applique, one for each month when our group gets together. Later this summer, I’ll be prepping more wool blocks, our project for 2013, Lisa Bongean’s (Primitive Gatherings) Home for the Holidays Block of the Month. We’ll be visiting her shop in Menasha, Wisconsin in July so I’ll have a full report and get all the needed supplies for the new quilt.

For now, sewing and quilting are taking a back seat to the garden as I get the planting done . . . for the 2nd Annual Quilt Show in the Garden. More to come in June.

Roses in my Garden

2 responses

  1. Hi Sue,
    Yoko and I went to Primitive Gatherings when we attended Nancy’s Notions Sewing Weekend. I was curious since you talked so much about it and of course Yoko goes wherever I drive her. Well I was impressed! I love when shops have a personality like that. I bought some wool and Yoko bout a wall hanging kit. Saw the Christmas BOM you plan to do and loved it! -Mia

Leave a Reply

