There’s still to time . . . 12 days and counting!

Last minute procrastination for the holidays – YIKES!

If you’re still looking for some holiday sewing ideas, I’ve got a few that worked for me. Since full-size quilts must be quilted and then go through various stages of binding, labeling and embellishing, holiday ones should probably be tackled long before we turn the heat on, but there’s still time to create these last minute projects!

My favorite, and the absolute quickest thing that you can whip together is the “Ten Minute Tablerunner.” I was introduced to this wonderful little project two years ago at my Fall Quilting Retreat in a kit I purchased from That Quilt Shop (Woodstock). Therese, the shop owner, has been a vendor at the retreat for the past few years. She demo-ed this runner and yes, it only takes ten actual minutes to complete! The complete project is just  four seams, some pressing and of course a great pairing of a novelty print and coordinating fabric. In order to avoid any copyright infringements, I will let you google the pattern originally created by LaRae Bunnell Clark.

As you can see, I’ve made a huge assortment of these runners. There are so many awesome prints out there, especially foodie favorites including everything from sushi to pretzels, beer and wine! I also made some runners to cheer on our Chicago teams.

Ten Minute Table Runner Assortment

Ten Minute Table Runner Assortment

"Ten Minute Tablerunner"

“Ten Minute Tablerunner”

Wine Tote Assembly Line

Wine Tote Assembly Line

My next mini project is the wine bottle tote, which once again showcases a variety of novelty fabrics. It may take longer than ten minutes, but you can easily set up a bunch of them and sew them assembly-line style. Plus, this one is eco-friendly, you get to gift a bottle of wine without using wrapping paper!

Wine Totes

Wine Totes

Olive oil and Balsamic Gift Set

Olive oil and Balsamic Gift Set

The pattern I often use is Terry Atkinson’s, from her book Let’s Do Lunch. It’s quick and easy, and you’ll have to buy the book to get it! Back in my old shop days, I created a pattern for a Wine Bottle Bag, which I will share with you now. Beware, it’s a little rough – at least 10 years old!

WINE BOTTLE BAG

1/4 yard fabric and coordinating ribbon

Cut fabric to a length of 40½ inches.  You may choose a width of between 6 and 7 inches, depending on the size of the bottle.  Press fabric and fold in half.  Sew up both sides of bag, right sides together.  Turn and Press. Press unfinished edge 2 inch towards the wrong side of bag. Press this edge again 3 inches to wrong side of bag, to form a cuff. Top stitch around cuff, 2 3/4 inches from top.  Turn bag wrong side out so right sides face each other.  Match side seams to fold line on bottom of bag. Sew across both triangles approximately 1″ down from point.  Turn bag right side out.  Press.  Tie with ribbon.

Finally, my favorite quickie quilt is made from either a panel or a fun print that you just can’t bear to cut into smaller pieces. Simply trim the panel or cut the print to any size, border with a skinny border and add the final border of flying geese units and a 4″ solid border. I always use the fast flying geese method which always gives me perfectly accurate geese. Once again, google this technique and you will use it often.

Quick and Easy Flying Geese Quilt

Quick and Easy Flying Geese Quilt

Love this fabric!

Love this fabric!

Fast Flying Geese

Fast Flying Geese

I hope this post finds you with time to spare – all your decorating is done, cards sent, presents wrapped, cookies baked and many days of relaxing before the busy few weeks ahead!

Right, I’m not at the point either but things always have a way of getting done in time.

On a completely separate note, I wanted to add-in some information about a really great product line my daughter introduced me while she was living in California. The line is called KiwiFox and Michelle raved about it the moment she discovered it at an Oscar lounge. I’m telling you about it just in case you have a few gifts left to buy and are thinking about anything like this – especially the eyelash growth serum – FoxyLash. Michelle received a few of these product for free to test them and since she’s blessed with long lashes passed this one on to me. It’s very easy, just like mascara and takes about 30 seconds to add into your morning routine. Plus, like all of these products, it smells amazing! I’m still using the product so I don’t have definite results yet, but I’m hoping for long lashes for Michael & Erin’s wedding in June!

In closing, I wish you all a VERY Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and a safe, happy and healthy holiday season!

December 2012 004 (2)

One response

  1. Pingback: Sewing Machine Basics 101 | Patches & Prints

Leave a Reply

