Quilt Show in the Garden 2013

IMG_1311

It was a gorgeous June day for the 2013 Quilt Show in the Garden! I was so hoping for sunshine after last year’s monsoon and the weather really cooperated for the most part. We had a full day of fun with beautiful quilts in a garden setting, box lunches and a gathering of friends.

Last year I divided the event into two posts, with the quilts coming first and the food second. This year though, everyone was really ready to hear about the recipes, so we’ll start there.

Pinterest is the number one spot for party planning these days and it was my first stop as I planned my event.

Many of us have fun playing and pinning – I happen to designate one of my boards as “Quilt Show in the Garden” and pin garden party ideas, recipes, and tablescape ideas, every time I see something good.

This year one of the better pins that I found was for box lunches. The original blog post was for a bridal shower but can easily double for a garden party. I found great ideas for lunch, sources for boxes, bags and other supplies as well as tips for packaging. First though, I needed to decide on food.

My friend Lori is starting a small catering business – Lunch with Lori – and I was excited to help her spread the word by having her provide the chicken and pasta salads. I purchased the croissants from Costco, and my Breakfast Club quilt group all pitched in to make the fruit cups. The lunches were a big hit, and it really helped the entire day run smoothly to have the lunch packed the day before.

Bags for croissants and stickers for sealing

Bags for croissants and stickers for sealing

Fruit cups

Fruit cups

Salads, fruit and croissants ready to go!

Salads, fruit and croissants ready to go!

Boxes are filled and waiting for ribbon

Boxes are filled and waiting for ribbon

IMG_2745

Lunch Table

Onto beverages and desserts! My inspiration, of course – Pinterest! My daughter Michelle ALWAYS makes desserts for birthdays and holidays, so of course I tapped her skills for the quilt show once again. I chose three single-serve fruity desserts and we brainstormed on the last one for something quick, easy and chocolatey which happened to be the very popular Kraft recipe for  Oreo Cookie Balls.

Dessert Buffet

Dessert Buffet

Oreo Cookie Balls

Oreo Cookie Balls

The fruity single-serve desserts included Lemon Bars, Blueberry Pie Sour Cream Bars and Strawberry Champagne Cupcakes. (Follow links for recipes.) I found them all on Pinterest, though we decided to change the strawberries to blueberries in the sour cream bars since we already had the strawberry cupcakes. The swap was pretty easy, just a substitution with the pie filling. Everything was pretty fantastic, especially the strawberry cupcake frosting, which, since Michelle was a little pressed for time this week, I actually made myself. It tasted like strawberry ice cream! Definitely make these part of your upcoming summer outings and share your desserting in the comments.

Lemon Bars

Lemon Bars

Blueberry Pie Sour Cream Bars

Blueberry Pie Sour Cream Bars

Strawberry Champagne Cupcakes

Strawberry Champagne Cupcakes

Finally, drinks . We served Tequila Sangria (see last  year’s post for recipe), Lemonade Iced Tea and a bucketful of bottled baby waters, as my grandson has nicknamed the 8 oz bottles – which I have to recommend for parties because it’s much more likely that people will finish them when they’re smaller. IMG_2748

IMG_2750

Presentation has always been one of my favorite parts of event planning and again Pinterest was a great source of inspiration for my garden theme tablescapes.

I recycled/re-used the chalkboard trays I painted for our bridal shower in April, found an awesome silverware/napkin wrap idea, and even found ideas for my flower arrangements. Keeping with the Quilt Show theme, I ALWAYS utilize quilts as table toppers, my own and some beautiful antique quilts I have collected.

I chose orange and green as my color theme, mostly because of the adorable napkin/silverware combo I found, and I carried out the duo in the croissant bags, ribbon and flowers.

Carrots - the napkin and silverware neatly wrapped.

Carrots – the napkin and silverware neatly wrapped.

IMG_2739

If you haven’t perused Pinterest lately, I hope this post triggers your pinning for the rest of the summer, there’s just so many different ideas out there and it’s such an easy place to find them.

It’s so great to be able to incorporate my love of quilting with the fun of entertaining by hosting my Quilt Show in the Garden. Even though we did encounter a little rain this year, it was nothing compared to the backyard downpour of 2012. We were able to display the quilts and enjoy the sunshine for a few hours until a quick storm rolled in and we moved the party indoors. There was a great turnout, including many of my non-quilting friends, and we are all looking forward to next year. Thanks to everyone who came out for the afternoon, and since this was the food post a special thanks to Lori & Michelle.

Next up: The Quilts!

2 responses

  1. I really enjoyed reading your blog! And it was a real pleasure to make the food from “Lunch with Lori”. I will do it again for you anytime! You are the ultimate hostess!

  2. Pingback: My Top Five Posts of 2013! | Patches & Prints

Leave a Reply

