The final two holiday projects . . . Short and Sweet

Short and Sweet December continues with my final two holiday projects. Both of them needed to be quilted . . . by me! As some of you know, I rarely quilt my own quilts because I am not good at free motion. I’m very good at straight lines and can pretty much follow markings but I could never get the hang of free motion with the dropped feed dogs. A note about my sewing machine, a Pfaff Quilt Pro that I have had since 2001 – I LOVE this machine, especially the dual feed which is a built-in walking foot! This is great for me and my straight line quilting and no klunky walking foot.

Back to the final two projects – first, a block from the Seasonal Silhouettes by Laundry Basket Quilts. I  fused the pieces, zig-zag stitched with invisible thread and added two borders.

IMG_2238

Also ready for quilting, Home for Christmas, a block of the month wool applique from Primitive Gatherings. My Breakfast Club quilt group has been working on this all year.

IMG_2230

I used fusible batting for the quilt sandwiches.

As I mentioned, I’m really good at straight lines. I did a diagonal line design (using a water soluble marker) on the lantern and also a little echo quilting around the applique. IMG_2241 IMG_2248

I even got fancy in two corners with the holly.

IMG_2242

With Home for Christmas, I stitched in the ditch around the blocks and stitched an “X” through the pieced blocks. I didn’t want any quilting in the wool blocks. IMG_2232

Again, I got a little fancy with some stars in the border.

IMG_2235

Now that the quilting is finished all that is left are hanging sleeves and binding – ready for Christmas. . . and my next post!

Leave a Reply

